Southern Fried Sundays

When someone asks me what my favorite food is I always reply with “Cajun food.” Although Southern food would be more inclusive. Fried, hot, spicy, and filling. The kind of food that makes you feel loved from the inside out. Fried chicken was a standard in my parent’s house on Sundays. My fried chicken doesn’t hold a candle to my Mama’s, so I don’t even attempt it anymore. I stick to the things I’m good at usually, but sometimes trying new things is fun too.

I make excellent jambalaya and cornbread. I’m not a fan of chili or soups, so Jambalaya is my go to winter comfort food. It’s also Mardi Gras month which makes a traditional New Orleans’ dish all the more appropriate. I made cornbread muffins to go along with it. A new recipe I wanted to try along with my tried and true ones is fried okra.

I’ve always thought fried okra was delicious, but have never attempted to make it myself until today. Most recipes I found included buttermilk. I didn’t have that on hand so I found a recipe without it. I do think buttermilk makes a difference though. My breading didn’t stick as well as I would have liked for it to, but overall it wasn’t bad.

The recipe I used:

Fried Okra

Ingredients

  • 10 pods okra- cut into 1/4 in. pieces
  • 1 egg- beaten
  • 1 cup cornmeal
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil-for frying

Instructions

  • In a small bowl soak okra pieces in beaten egg for 10-15 minutes
  • In a medium bowl combine cornmeal, pepper, and salt
  • Heat oil in skillet over medium to high heat
  • Dredge okra in cornmeal mixture until covered
  • Fry in oil until golden brown
  • Drain on paper towels before serving
  • Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

